Review: “Vicious” by V.E. Schwab

Review: “Vicious” by V.E. SchwabVicious by V. E. Schwab
Genres: Adult Fiction, Science Fiction
Published by Macmillan on September 24th 2013
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble
Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

My love for this book is a quiet thing. Except, of course, when I was screaming WHAT JUST HAPPENED as my mind exploded without a sound. Kinda contradictory, I know.

I think that’s because the writing is nuanced and inconspicuously brilliant. Schwab never gives too much, but rather only what is needed. What is given though says so much, especially if you really stop to think about it. Her writing is rather stealthy, as it builds tension slowly until WHAM! everything is happening and you don’t know what hit you but you really can’t draw enough air to formulate your feelings but damn. It’s pretty magnificent.

I really enjoyed the way the story was told, too. The chapters were pretty short (again, Schwab never gave us too much) and flashed backwards and forwards in time, from ten years ago when the two MCs were in university (some of my favorite parts), to a couple days ago leading up to the present and about a day past that point, with a few other scattered looks into the past. Normally, this method can be excruciatingly frustrating, but it really was done so well. * claps * I have nothing but applause. The story also had alternating POVs, though at uneven intervals, which I thought was, for the most part, a well-used method.

Vicious is very character-centric, and I myself just COULDN’T GET ENOUGH OF THEM. Above all, I deeply appreciated the way that Schwab managed to portray them not as psychological cases, but as people. Sure, maybe there were symptoms of some syndrome or disorder, but coming to a diagnosis is hardly the point — in fact, it would only discredit and obliviate the depth and development put into these characters. I was surprised by how earnest and believable the characters were (especially Eli and Victor), considering that, when viewed from afar, it all seems pretty desperate and drastic.

“If he’d had to judge based on the two of them, then ExtraOrdinaries were damaged, to say the least. But these words people threw around–humans, monsters, heroes, villains–to Victor it was all just a matter of semantics.”

Victor was such a unique and complex character, and just the kind of person you want to get to understand. I totally understood the way Sydney (the young, powerful girl mentioned in the synopsis) believed in him and stayed by him. We got such little peeks into his life and thoughts, but I do feel like I understood at least some core aspects of him. He doesn’t lend himself to easy characterizations of “good,” as he can be rather violent, unforgiving, moody, and arrogant… yeah, not-so good. But “good” is most certainly not the point of this book as I’ll talk about later. Though he’s twisted, he is an undeniably compelling character.

Sydney was a great character too — she was very believable for her age and situation, and yet also very much her own person. Her unconventional relationship with Victor, and also the motley, riff-raff group Sydney, Victor, and Victor’s ex-cellmate Mitch form is one of my favorite parts of the book.

“’Sydney, look at me.’ He rested his hands on the car roof and leaned in. ‘No one is going to hurt you. Do you know why?’ She shook her head, and Victor smiled. ‘Because I’ll hurt them first.’”

And of course, Vicious brings up all sorts of moral questions related to hero/villain stories whose answers we usually take for granted. Mainly, does the good/bad dichotomy really exist? Vicious shows us that it’s a lot less real than we make it out to be. Both categories are rather fuzzy, but “good” perhaps the most. Believe me, this reads a lot better in the book than I can describe!

“The paper called Eli a hero. The word made Victor laugh. Not just because it was absurd, but because it posed a question. If Eli was really a hero, and Victor meant to stop him, did that make him a villain? He took a long sip of his drink, tipped his head back against the couch, and decided he could live with that.”

The slight issues I have with Vicious is the pacing and the ending. Neither of these issues mean that I didn’t love the book, but they’re still there. The WHAT IS HAPPENING moments happened before the halfway point in the book, and the rest of the book felt markedly different in terms of pacing. I was never bored, but it’s hard to keep the same kind of crazy energy going.

I was also little surprised by the ending, because, well, it was a quiet ending. Again, quiet, and probably more brilliant than I know, which is why I really want to reread again soon. But I think I expected some sort of moral epiphany being reached, and there isn’t one, which I also understood. And a bit more that I’m not sure is a spoiler but I don’t want to reveal too much about: View Spoiler »

But after the last page I just wanted MORE. I rarely do, and I love a good standalone, but I think even though it’s ending says a lot very simply, it also leaves a lot unsaid. I think it could’ve stood for at least a very short prologue, HEA or not. But this could change if I’m satisfied with it upon rereading.


Vicious quietly stole its way into my heart, and something tells me I’ll be needing a re-read soon. I can’t wait to read more by V.E. Schwab!

signature

ARC Review: “From a Distant Star” by Karen McQuestion

ARC Review: “From a Distant Star” by Karen McQuestionFrom a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Published by Skyscape on 05/19/15
Format: eARC
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble
Seventeen-year-old Emma was the only one who hadn’t given up on her boyfriend, Lucas. Everyone else—his family, his friends, his doctors—believed that any moment could be his last. So when Lucas miraculously returns from the brink of death, Emma thinks her prayers have been answered.

As the surprised town rejoices, Emma begins to question whether Lucas is the same boy she’s always known. When she finds an unidentifiable object on his family’s farm—and government agents come to claim it—she begins to suspect that nothing is what it seems. Emma’s out-of-this-world discovery may be the key to setting things right, but only if she and Lucas can evade the agents who are after what they have. With all her hopes and dreams on the line, Emma sets out to save the boy she loves. And with a little help from a distant star, she might just have a chance at making those dreams come true.

I received access to this galley for free from Amazon Skyscape publishing through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


I had never heard of From a Distant Star or its author, Karen McQuestion, before I requested it from Netgalley — and it was certainly refreshing to start a book with a blank slate, something that’s been almost impossible to do since I started blogging. Reviewing a relatively unknown ARC made me feel like something of a pioneer: brave, excited, and trail-blazing, but also alone and dubious. My appreciation for the book blogging community multiplied exponentially while I was reading this ARC, as I realized just how much advance readers (either before publication or before I read a book) shape everything! But more on that later.

Check out my Instagram! @everybookaworld

Check out my Instagram! @everybookaworld

It was the sci-fi aspect of the book that I was most excited for, and I was imagining out-of-this-world scenes in space between humans and aliens while reading the synopsis and getting myself so excited. After reading though, I’d have to say that From a Distant Star felt like pretty “light” Sci-fi. It’s hard to put a finger on it, but between the (bland) narration style, the main character, and what actually happened in the plot, most of the book read kind of like a contemporary.

My main beef was with the MC, Emma. Oh, how she tested me! Tested my tolerance to DNF the book, that is. It didn’t take me long to realize that I didn’t really know much about Sarah herself — for the most part she seemed like an almost invisible, every-girl kind of character. It felt like she had no substance whatsoever! It was really a struggle for me to feel any sort of connection to her or to feel invested in her problems.

Her defining characteristic, it seems, is her deep and “forever” bond with her dying boyfriend, Lucas. ( blaring alarm Yikes! My feminist radar lit up quite a few times during the book…) I don’t mean to put down long-term relationships/love found at a young age — as I’m terribly unqualified to judge relationships — but from what the book presented, I just wasn’t quite buying it. We get to hear almost nothing from Lucas himself (a coma will do that to you…), and I never really felt like I got the chance to know or understand him. All the reader gets to hear are Emma’s saccharine-ly sweet thoughts and a few memories that didn’t really draw me in.

And honestly, a lot of what she said about Lucas and their relationship came off to me as immature and unbelievable. Either that or her thoughts made me worry about her individuality.

“I loved Lucas more than I’d ever loved anyone in my life. I couldn’t live without him.” (A declaration of undying love in the 2nd chapter…)

“The truth was that I just wanted to be a part of his world. What we did wasn’t important to me as long as we were together.”

“‘If she loves you like I love Lucas, she’s waiting for you. Even if everyone tells her it’s over and that you’re dead, she won’t believe them. Your bond is too strong.'”

“His silence made me wish for Lucas, who would’ve known what to do. Honestly, this accident wouldn’t have happened if Lucas were around, because with him driving, we wouldn’t have ended up in a ditch.”

It didn’t help that Emma just seemed to have a knack for saying foolish things.

Countless times throughout the first half I wanted to DNF the book. Emma was just getting to be a bit much for me to tolerate, the writing was bland, the beginning was pretty rough, and so much of it felt predictable and boring. But it was the few advance reviews on Goodreads that kept me going, promising that it got better.

…and it did get better, more so than I could’ve imagined. I finally reached a point when I was reading that the action took off and managed to surprise me. Secret agencies, guns, and illegal operations, oh my! Emma and the writing didn’t really get much better, but I was finally interested enough that I could look beyond them.

Ultimately, the book’s saving grace is Scout’s character. Without going too much into detail, he is the alien presence in the book (and why it’s Sci-fi!). Though he was a relatively simple character, he was always noticeably different — innocent, kind, and good. I loved all his parts and the few chapters he narrated!

His planet’s way of life gave him a unique perspective on Earthen customs and morality. Though his observations were again, pretty simple, they were still quite valid. They really made me think about how much cruelty and atrocity really goes unquestioned in our lives because we’ve accepted it on some level and think that this is the way our society has to be.

“‘This is a very confusing planet. People believe things that aren’t true about other people just because of how they look and what kind of vehicle they drive. Why not wait and see who they are inside before you make a decision?'”

“‘That is a sad thing,’ he said. ‘Always thinking the worst of other people.'”

“‘Why don’t people just make the world a better place and then they would’t need to get drunk?'”

“‘There is not a good reason. They had just decided that those from other planets are the enemy.’ I heard the shrug in his voice. ‘Like you said, some people here are mentally ill, or just evil.'”

“‘This is a very odd planet,’ he said. [reply] ‘Yeah, I know.'”

This was the most “Sci-fi” element to me in the whole book, and without it the book might’ve been forgettable.

Overall, it’s hard for me to recommend From a Distant Star because of how hard it was to get through most of it, but I think it might appeal to readers who are new to the Sci-fi genre and want to read something a little more grounded and relatable.


Though not a solid read throughout, readers who can tolerate the MC might be pleasantly surprised if they stick it out.

signature

ARC Review: ‘Kalahari’ by Jessica Khoury

ARC Review: ‘Kalahari’ by Jessica KhouryKalahari by Jessica Khoury
Series: Corpus #3
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult
Published by Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated on February 24th 2015
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble
Deep in the Kalahari Desert, a Corpus lab protects a dangerous secret…

But what happens when that secret takes on a life of its own?

When an educational safari goes wrong, five teens find themselves stranded in the Kalahari Desert without a guide. It’s up to Sarah, the daughter of zoologists, to keep them alive and lead them to safety, calling on survival know-how from years of growing up in remote and exotic locales. Battling dehydration, starvation and the pangs of first love, she does her best to hold it together, even as their circumstances grow increasingly desperate.

But soon a terrifying encounter makes Sarah question everything she’s ever known about the natural world. A silver lion, as though made of mercury, makes a vicious, unprovoked attack on the group. After a narrow escape, they uncover the chilling truth behind the lion’s silver sheen: a highly contagious and deadly virus that threatens to ravage the entire area—and eliminate life as they know it.

In this breathtaking new novel by the acclaimed author of Origin and Vitro, Sarah and the others must not only outrun the virus, but its creators, who will stop at nothing to wipe every trace of it.

I received access to this galley for free from the Penguin First to Read program in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Eeeep, guys, my first ARC! So excited. But anyway…

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 4.40.41 PM

I definitely have a soft spot for Khoury’s Corpus series. They’re more like companion books, really, but each time a new one comes out, I just know that I’ll have to read it and that I’ll really enjoy it.

Why is this? Well, because I know her books will always have a dash of romance, a couple of interesting characters, an awesome setting, some aspect of morality/depth, and most importantly, a whole heap of what I like to call…

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 4.49.50 PM… Scientist Sneakery! Yep, certainly sounds like a term I coined. What links the three books in Khoury’s series is that each stumbles upon the work of a super-secret lab funded by the Corpus company, whose experiments, well, are quite ambitious and not always for the benefit of all of humanity. 

I actually participated in a blogger panel once about the portrayal of science as ‘evil’ in Sci-Fi, and I mostly ended up writing about this series! (I also called the Corpus scientists “my favorite evil scientists,” haha!) I think I find Corpus so fascinating to read about because of how frighteningly real such a company could be. I mean really, how many Corpus-like companies could be out there??


Now, on to Corpus’ latest endeavor, in the Kalahari Desert of central Botswana…

1119947_609108835040_971434908_o

Khoury on a trip to the Kalahari.

While at first I was a little dubious about the setting, as I gradually gained more knowledge of it I was fascinated by the Kalahari, and how much life was to be found in the (semi)desert. Since I don’t come from an arid or dessert-like climate, this is something that I’ve only recently been learning, like during a recent trip to Joshua Tree National Park. From the Bushman’s traditional survival skills to run-ins with some of the Kalahari’s most dangerous residents (like a young, sexually frustrated bull [male] elephant!), the setting really came to life in the most vibrant of ways, and included deeper messages abut the environment.

11235014_ori

Is this Sarah, or Bindi? (rottentomatoes.com)

Our MC, Sarah, basically lives the life many of us imagined as kids watching the Discovery channel. She’s basically an older Bindi Irwin, if you know what I mean. She is the child of two zoologists, and has grown up riding elephants, stealing baby kangaroos, and learning to track in the Kalahari. Her cool factor is basically through the roof, even if she has a little trouble socializing with her peers (who aren’t that abundant in the Kalahari).

Besides having such a plain name, (Sarah? Really?) I think I was a little annoyed by how flat a character she seemed to be. In such a packed action story, there just doesn’t seem to be too much time for characterization. She does stand out in 2 major ways, however: in her kick-ass survival skills, and in her struggles over dealing with the recent death of her mother. Her struggles really made me sympathize with her, and her desert skills were what made me believe in her and root for her. Seriously, shoutout to anyone who can survive in the desert with practically no supplies, all while being hunted by mercenaries!

As for the other teens trying to survive the desert — characters don’t really seem to be Khoury’s strong point. But while I was pretty lukewarm about the characters in the beginning, I managed to warm up to them some, just like they did to each other throughout their crazy adventures through the Kalahari. Some of them were pretty good for providing a much-needed laugh in the face of danger.

“‘Uh . . . Guys? Is this what I think it is?’ Sam took a look, then gave a low whistle. ‘Bees?’ ‘Sickos,’ Joey muttered. ‘What do they do—sprinkle them on their cereal?'” [speaking of the Corpus scientists]

The romance, while cute enough, didn’t steal too much of my attention — it almost feels like the book didn’t really need it. In some parts, it even feels a little like insta-love, but the reason for this is revealed later. But what Sarah did definitely need was the emotional support that Sam provided, as they connected over their mutual loss of a family member. This was what I found most touching, romantic or otherwise.

“‘The pain does fade, Sarah.’ I looked up at him. His eyes were gentle and unwavering. ‘Does it?’ ‘It doesn’t go away, but one day you wake up and find it’s a part of you.'”

But of course, it is Corpus once again that steals the show. The book never really feels slow, per say, but after the group encounters a silver lion (scientist sneakery!!), everything kicks into high gear, and I couldn’t tear myself away from the rest of the book.


Though the characters are a bit weak, Kalahari‘s kick-ass setting and evil-scientist sneakery make for an entertaining read.

signature

Review: ‘The Islands at the End of the World’ by Austin Aslan

Review: ‘The Islands at the End of the World’ by Austin AslanThe Islands at the End of the World by Austin Aslan
Series: The Islands at the End of the World #1
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Published by Random House Children's Books on August 5, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble
Right before my eyes, my beautiful islands are changing forever. And so am I ...

Sixteen-year-old Leilani loves surfing and her home in Hilo, on the Big Island of Hawaii. But she's an outsider - half white, half Hawaiian, and an epileptic.

While Lei and her father are on a visit to Oahu, a global disaster strikes. Technology and power fail, Hawaii is cut off from the world, and the islands revert to traditional ways of survival. As Lei and her dad embark on a nightmarish journey across islands to reach home and family, she learns that her epilepsy and her deep connection to Hawaii could be keys to ending the crisis before it becomes worse than anyone can imagine.

A powerful story enriched by fascinating elements of Hawaiian ecology, culture, and warfare, this captivating and dramatic debut from Austin Aslan is the first of two novels. The author has a master’s degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

You know when you can spot a book that you know you’ll love from a mile away? A book that just screams you?

That was definitely this book for me.

Let’s just take a moment to see what Tags I gave this post: Dystopian, Hawaii, Mythology, Sci-Fi, Survival Stories. 

Now, this might sound like a rather strange mix. (Now that I think about it, a similar mix of genres can be found in Jessica Khoury’s Origin.) But I just couldn’t love it more. Squee!

If I haven’t been obvious enough about it before, I am a huge fan of Sci-Fi and Dystopian. Survival Stories naturally fall into the mix, and I would rarely pass up an opportunity to read a book based in Mythology. Which leaves…

1039531_549121471815113_37549770_o

The sibs and I feelin’ pretty happy at the top of the Kuilau Trail!

HAWAII!! (Caution: I get pretty worked up over Hawaii, haha.) My family and I had the privilege of visiting Kauai, Hawaii’s oldest island, a few years ago, and I have never been to a more beautiful or relaxed place. Hawaii is truly such a special place, from the landscape to its culture.

And honestly, why aren’t more books set in these beautiful islands?! As Aslan has so ingeniously and terrifyingly shown with his debut book, there may be no greater place to set an Apocalyptic story than the isolated islands of Hawaii. From the author on the book’s Goodreads page:

“Everybody knows what happens at the end of the world in New York and LA, but what would a global disaster mean for Islanders? 95% of Hawaii’s food is imported every day. The islands are home to 1.5 million people. If things got tough there, where would all those people go? There are no mountain ranges or Great Plains to escape to. Everyone is stuck. Hungry. No way to escape.” 

Between my visit and all the reading I did in preparation for the trip, I know a bit more about the islands than the next person — which is still not too much compared with the vast wealth of knowledge there is to know about Hawaii — and I can say that this definitely helped deepen my connection with the story. The tales of the islands’ rich mythology, their geography, and their current struggles were already somewhat familiar and dear to me, which helps to explain why I drooled over this book until I had it in my hands, and simply devoured it as fast as I could when I finally had it.

1040472_549114258482501_254053058_o

My favorite mountain on all of Kauai.

The setting is absolutely crucial to this book, and is what really makes The Islands at the End of the World stand out in more ways than one. The idea of paradise quickly devolving into a nightmare highlights how the world could really turn upside-down so fast in the event of some sort of apocalypse.

The setting also played into a major theme in the book, which in my opinion helped make it so much more than just a survival story: Belonging. As half Hawaiian, half white (with an appearance that makes it a struggle to fit in with the locals), MC Leilani has only lived in Hawaii with her family for 3 years. Though she feels a deep connection to the island as she discovers more about her own culture and heritage, she can’t seem to fit in. Her fits of epilepsy further alienate her from others.

“Long black hair. Oval face with high cheeks. My eyes are hazel, my complexion is… too light. I’m almost as white as Dad.”

I could personally understand Leilani so well, being of mixed heritage myself. I’m half white and half Hispanic, but my appearance and Germanic last name disconnect me from any casual association with my Hispanic heritage. Though I’m not a native Spanish speaker, I’ve been learning about the language and culture for 7 years now. While I love what parts of my culture I know, I often find it hard to believe that I’ll ever truly feel like a part of the Hispanic community — which is why I felt and rooted for Leilani every step of the way.

Ridiculously beautiful Taro fields in Hanalei.

Ridiculously beautiful Taro fields in Hanalei.

Aslan’s book also grapples with the serious land dispute issues occurring in Hawaii, which I’ve been fortunate enough to have been exposed to during my 1st semester in college. Since the beginning of Hawaii’s statehood — or, it’s illegal and unwanted annexation and overthrow of local government — there has been a movement to restore land and governing rights back to Native Hawaiians, essentially recognizing it as an independent nation. So, to whom do these islands belong — the United States, or native Hawaiians? Who belongs to this category labeled as ‘Hawaiian’ when Hawaiians themselves are so mixed in heritage, and how might this split up families? Do the natural treasures of Hawaii belong only to natives, or should they be shared? It’s no simple issue, but Aslan incorporates it into his book admirably. 

I don’t want to give too much away, but this Belonging theme isn’t the only thing that makes The Islands at the End of the World more than just a survival story. As the book progresses, the mythology and Sci-fi elements begin to intertwine more closely with the plot, until they steal center stage. I really enjoyed these elements and thought that they were well-developed, even if at around the midway point I thought my head would explode (in a good way) from all the extra intensity these elements added to the already dramatic storyline.

Not only were these elements fascinating, but thanks to author-scientist Austin Aslan, they also seemed plausible. I’m going to out and admit it here that I’ve got a bit of idol-worship for the guy — one look at his biography and you might, too. The book closely mirrors his life in some aspects, and his master’s degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo really adds credibility to the story.

All-in-all, The Islands at the End of the World was a fast-paced, desperate story of survival that made my head spin — but also hit close to home with its setting and theme. I may or may not have shed a tear or two somewhere along the way, and I adored the father-daughter relationship in the book. That this series is set to be just a two-booker seems perfect to me, as the sequel will be able to be just as fast-paced while also expanding and wrapping up the story.


Everything you’d ever want in a Survival Story and more, thanks to its unique setting.

signature

Waiting On Wednesday: ‘A Thousand Pieces of You’ by Claudia Gray

Waiting On Wednesday: ‘A Thousand Pieces of You’ by Claudia GrayA Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Series: Firebird #1
Genres: Sci-Fi, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Published by HarperCollins on 2014-11-04
Source: http://www.goodreads.com
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble
Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spinethat spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Okay — while practically EVERYTHING about A Thousand Pieces of You demands that I get this book as soon as possible, first, LOOK AT THAT COVER. Such gorgeous colors and a watercolor background to boot. But of course, most importantly, the London and Moscow skylines (!!!)!  I love Travel Lit, and I’m hoping that even more foreign places will be featured in this book.

And don’t forget the synopsis.

“Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy…”

Could this get any better? David Leviathan’s Every Day, aka a romance with a Sci-fi twist and Cloud Atlas, a stunning movie set in different places all over the world in different times (Yes, I’ll admit I haven’t read the book) sounds like a recipe for success. I know these book comparisons are made all the time and are not always right, but in the case of A Thousand Pieces of You, I supremely hope it is.

Throw in parallel universes and it’s all over. If this book were available for purchase now, I would have bought it, like, yesterday. Which is the highest form of praise a book can receive from me, as I borrow almost every single book I read from the library. But it won’t be out until November…whyyy??? I need this! (Publishers, take note.)

So if you’re a fan of Sci-fi or Travel Lit like me, you’d better be adding this to your Goodreads shelf or to-be-read list. Or, you know, even if you’re just a fan of the cover. I won’t judge. 😉

Lina :)xx


Are you psyched to read the book? Have you already been waiting on A Thousand Pieces of You? Share your thoughts!